Travel Book: From the Holy Mountain

I’ve liked William Dalrymple since The Last Mughals, but I am also a little tired of reading about India. Indians. Mughals. The chaos. The disparity. The colors. Kali.

So I decided to order this book from Flipkart, my favorite service of late. The book arrived within 3 days, and since then I have been engrossed in the tales of the last of the Early Christian sects around the Mediterranean, especially Turkey. Dalrymple writes simply, and with lots of research and history behind his writings. I can almost see the desert, the dust and the last Syrian monks at the monasteries.

 

Leave a Reply

